Two eminent personalities join GITAM University's Governing Body

Hyderabad, Aug 5, 2020: Two eminent personalities, Shri K. Padmanabhaiah, former Home Secretary of India and Dr. Gullapalli Nageswara Rao, the Founder of LV Prasad Eye Institute in Hyderabad have joined GITAM’s Governing Body here on Wednesday.

They both had highly distinguished careers in public service; K Padmanabiah in the bureaucracy and G Nageswara Rao in healthcare.

Mr. M. Sribharat, the President of GITAM, extended a warm welcome to the new members and said it’s GITAM’s honour and privilege to have them on the board. He felt that each of them comes to GITAM with decades of leadership in their respective fields and that they are well-aligned to GITAM’s goal of changing the world for better through education.

K Padmanabiah, a 1962 batch IAS officer, served the Government of Maharashtra

and the Government of India in various capacities in crucial sectors such as internal security,

energy, aviation, urban development and agriculture. He was the Central Government’s key

interlocutor for peace talks with the Naga militants for over a decade. He also chaired the

committee set up by the Central Government tasked with suggesting structural changes in the

Indian Police system. In 2008, he was conferred with Padma Bhushan award by the

Government of India. He is currently serving as the Chairman of Administrative Staff

College of India at Hyderabad.

G Nageswara Rao is an Indian ophthalmologist who in the midst of a brilliant medical

career in the USA began to feel the tug of the motherland. Looking at the quality of medical

care in the USA and the kind of institutions they have built-in that country he began to ask

himself, ‘Why can’t we build similar institutions in India?’ He returned to India in 1987 to set

up the not-for-profit LV Prasad Eye Care Institute (LVPEI) in Hyderabad which introduced

quality eye care to Andhra Pradesh and India. Since then, LVPEI, which works towards

preventing avoidable blindness, has made a difference to over 15 million people. He was

conferred with the Padma Shri award by the Central Government in 2002 and inducted to the

Ophthalmology Hall of Fame in 2017.

The meeting was attended by all the existing Governing Body members including

GITAM Vice-President Prof. M.Gangadhara Rao, Secretary B.V.Mohana Rao, Joint

Secretary M.Bharadwaj and TreasurerB.S.S.N.Raju.