Reddys vs BCs vs SCs for TPCC chief post

Congress has been wiped out by TRS in Telangana since 2014.

However, the party managed to retain No. 2 position in Telangana after TRS since 2014.

But BJP has now pushed Congress to No.3 position in Telangana in recent Dubbak Assembly bypoll and GHMC elections.

With this Congress is no more considered as principal opposition party in Telangana.

People are looking at BJP as the only alternative to TRS in Telangana and people feel that only BJP has the capacity to defeat TRS in 2023 December Assembly polls and come to power in Telangana.

Despite all this, Telangana Congress leaders are fighting with each other to secure the post of chief of TPCC (Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president).

There is a huge competition to secure this post of leading the Congress party in Telangana after present TPCC chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy tendered his resignation for the post last week after Congress faced humiliating defeat by winning just 2 seats out of 150 seats in GHMC.

TPCC chief post has now turned as a battle between Reddys, BCs (backward classes) and SCs (scheduled castes).

Congress is traditionally a Reddy-dominant party. BCs and SCs are now opposing TPCC chief post for Reddy leaders saying that Reddys failed to strengthen Congress and today if Congress is lying in such a pathetic condition in Telangana, it is because of inefficiency and lack of leadership skills of Reddy leaders. BCs and SCs want TPCC chief post be given to BCs or SCs this time to take on TRS and BJP.

Reddy leaders Jana Reddy, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, Revanth Reddy, Marri Shashidhar Reddy, Jagga Reddy are in the race for TPCC chief post.

BC leaders Ponnam Prabhakar, V Hanumantha Rao, Anjan Kumar Yadav, Madhu Yashki Goud are vying for this post.

SC leaders Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Damodar Rajanarasimha, Sampat Kumar are vying for this post.

The Congress high command is now seeking the feedback of all leaders from district-level to state-level over whom should be given TPCC chief post this time.

The high command is expected to announce new TPCC chief on December 14, 2020.

It looks like Congress may opt for Reddy leader as TPCC chief once again and it is widely speculated that either Revanth Reddy or Komatireddy Venkat Reddy will bag this post this time.