KCR begins demolition of Secretariat with CM Block!

Finally, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao did what he wanted to. That is demolition of Secretariat in Hyderabad, that served as the centre of state administration since Nizam-era and also for over six decades in Undivided Andhra Pradesh.

KCR has chosen the wee hours of Tuesday, July 7, 2020 as 'muhurat' for demolition of Secretariat, when entire Hyderabad is sleeping. People were shocked and surprised to know the demolition of Secretariat on Tuesday morning. Heavy police force was deployed and all roads leading to Secretariat were sealed to ensure no one protests at the site.

KCR ordered demolition of Secretariat starting with CM Block (Samatha Block or C Block) from where Chief Ministers of Undivided AP, NT Rama Rao, Marri Chenna Reddy, Nedurumalli Janardhan Reddy, Kotla Vijayabhaskar Reddy, N Chandrababu Naidu, YS Rajasekhar Reddy, Konijeti Rosaiah, N Kiran Kumar Reddy worked till 2014. KCR also worked as CM for a brief period from the same block from 2014 to 2016.

After bifurcation of AP, formation of Telangana State and KCR becoming first CM of Telangana State in June 2014, KCR avoided Secretariat. He worked as CM from Secretariat rarely from 2014 to 2016 citing 'vastu reason'. KCR had said that the Secretariat had 'dangerous vastu defects' and no CM could make progress working from there and said it should be demolished to construct a new one in its place. After constructing Pragathi Bhavan at Begumpet in November 2016, KCR completely avoided Secretariat. In June 2019, he laid foundation for construction of new Secretariat at a cost of Rs 400 crore by demolishing existing Secretariat. But several petitions were filed in High Court against demolition of Secretariat due to which the demolition could not be done for a year. But last week, High Court gave green signal for demolition.

KCR hurriedly and secretly took up demolition at midnight within a week of HC giving orders with a view not to give scope for anyone to file review petitions in HC or approach Supreme Court against demolition.

The existing Secretariat has huge 10 blocks of which some were constructed less than five to ten years ago by spending crores of public money. These ten blocks has a built up area of 10 lakh sft that served all the 23 districts of Undivided AP till 2014.

It's not just Secretariat that KCR has demolished but also demolished the history and legacy of Undivided AP.

Telangana secretariat, which stands opposite the Husain Sagar Lake, is spread over 25.5 acres with a built-up area of 9.16 lakh square feet and formerly served as the secretariat building for a united Andhra, until the two states split in 2014.  As part of a temporary arrangement until its own capital city was ready for use, Andhra Pradesh was allotted 15.21 acres land with a built-up area of 5.31 lakh sqft (five blocks). Telangana meanwhile had 3.85 lakh sqft built-up area spread over 10.29 acres (four blocks). The G-Block of Nizam's era in dilapidated condition was not allotted to anyone.

After bifurcation of AP in 2014, then AP CM Chandrababu Naidu worked from this Secretariat for one year before he shifted to AP's new capital Amaravathi in 2015. Later, he shifted AP Secretariat, AP Legislative Assembly, AP Legislative Council to Amaravathi in 2016. But Chandrababu did not handover vacant Secretariat blocks to Telangana saying that AP has a provision to utilise these blocks for 10 years with Hyderabad being common capital for both AP and TS for 10 years as per AP Reorganisation Act, 2014.

But after YS Jaganmohan Reddy became CM in May 2019, he handed over AP Secretariat blocks within a month of coming to power facilitating KCR to takeover all the blocks and demolish Secretariat and build a new 'vastu complaint' Secretariat in its place.