Jagan to increase districts in Andhra Pradesh from 10 to 25 soon!

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy is planning to increase districts in AP to 25 soon.

At present, AP has 13 districts.

Before bifurcation of AP in June 2014, United AP had 23 districts, of which 10 districts were in Telangana region.

After bifurcation of state, AP got 13 districts and Telangana state got 10 districts.

But, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao had increased districts from 10 to 33 in 2016.

But previous AP Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu did not increase districts in AP like KCR did in Telangana.

However, after Jagan became AP CM in May 2019, he has been seriously considering to increase districts in AP.

Jagan is learnt to have decided to make every Parliamentary constituency (Lok Sabha constituency) as one district. Andhra Pradesh currently has 25 Lok Sabha constituencies.

This would mean that the districts in AP will increase from 10 to 25 soon.

Jagan reportedly asked officials to draft proposals on reorganisation of districts in AP from 10 to 25.

The proposals will be approved by the cabinet and passed in Legislative Assembly.

Once approved, the Centre has to give formal approval recognising new districts.