AP 3 capitals: Jagan invites Modi to lay foundation on Aug 16

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy has invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to lay foundation for AP's three new capitals, Vizag (Executive Capital), Kurnool (Judicial Capital) and Amaravathi (Legislative Capital) on August 16.

Jagan requested Modi to lay foundation on August 16 either by visiting AP or through online mode by attending the even through video conference.

However, Modi is yet to confirm his participation.

It may be recalled that Modi laid foundation for Amaravathi capital city in October 2016, when N Chandrababu Naidu was CM of AP.

However, after Jagan became CM in May 2019, he decided to set up three capitals for AP as part of decentralisation of capitals and development of state.

Accordingly, AP Legislative Assembly passed Acts to this effect in June 2020, which were approved by Governor in July 2020.

Amaravathi will be confined to only Legislative Assembly and Legislative Capital.

The Secretariat and all state government offices will be shifted from Amaravathi to Vizag.

The High Court will be shifted from Amaravathi to Kurnool.

Chandrababu's dream capital city Amaravathi will lose its relevance and importance with the creation of three new capitals by Jagan.