2 more TDP MLAs to join YSRCP? AP CM Jagan deals a deadly blow to Naidu through Rajya Sabha polls!

The ruling YSRCP in Andhra Pradesh has won all the four Rajya Sabha seats comfortably on Friday, June 19, 2020.

Though YSRCP winning Rajya Sabha polls is a foregone conclusion considering the brute majority of 151 seats out of 175 seats in AP Assembly besides the support of three TDP rebel MLAs and one Jana Sena MLA, what became a subject of hot debate is YSRCP chief and AP CM YS Jaganmohan Reddy using Rajya Sabha polls to deal yet another deadly blow to TDP chief and former AP CM N Chandrababu Naidu.

Though TDP had no required majority in Assembly with just 24 MLAs, Chandrababu fielded TDP candidate Varla Ramaiah for Rajya Sabha poll with an intention to expose and check three TDP MLAs, Vallabhaneni Vamshi, Karanam Balarama Krishna Murthy and Maddali Giridhar to prevent them from voting in favour of YSRCP by issuing a party whip to all the party MLAs.

But, Jagan played even smarter game than Naidu by asking these three rebel MLAs to vote 'invalid votes'.

Besides, another TDP MLA Adireddy Bhavani, also voted a 'invalid vote' triggering speculations that she too would join YSRCP soon. Though she claimed later that she committed 'mistake' in a hurry by making a tick on the ballot on preferential vote, instead of marking the number '1', due to which her vote was declared 'invalid', no one believed her explanation.

Another TDP MLA Anagani Satya Prasad, skipped polling saying that he was advised by doctors to remain in 'home quarantine' as he had recently met TRS MLA Muthireddy Yadagirir Reddy on a 'business purpose', who was recently tested positive for coronovirus.

One more TDP MLA K Atchen Naidu could not vote as he is in judicial remand in alleged ESI scam.

These two incidents during Rajya Sabha polling led to speculations that Adireddy Bhavani and Anagani would soon quit TDP and join YSRCP and they deliberately favoured YSRCP.

The Rajya Sabha polled did not fetch anything as desired by Chandrababu but instead it dealt another deadly blow to him and TDP with speculations of two more TDP MLAs joining YSRCP anytime soon.

If TDP strength in Assembly falls below 18, Chandrababu will lose even the status of "Leader of Opposition" and TDP the status of "Main Opposition party". Chandrababu and TDP needs at least 18 MLAs to protect their status but Jagan seems to be hell bent on stripping the status of Chandrababu and TDP.